Free Case Review    SUBMIT YOUR CASE NOW

Maximum Benefit Rates for Colorado Workers’ Compensation – 2013-2014 Fiscal Year

Every year, maximum rates for a host of workers’ comp wage loss benefits change. These rates are set by the Colorado Division of Workers’ Compensation and are effective throughout state’s fiscal year, which runs from July 1st to June 30th.

Weekly limits cover the following types of workers’ comp, or wage loss benefits:

  • Temporary Total Disability Benefits
  • Temporary Partial Disability Benefits
  • Permanent Total Disability Benefits
  • Death Benefits

For injuries occurring between July 1, 2013 and June 30, 2014, the maximum amount you can be paid for the wage loss benefits listed above is $875.42 per week, or 91% of the state’s average weekly wage of $962.07. Workers’ comp statutes in Colorado stipulate the maximum benefit shall be 91% of the average weekly wage in the state.

(The maximum DAILY rate is $125.06, although hardly anyone disburses benefits on a daily basis)

To be eligible for the maximum amount, a worker must have earned at least $1313.13 per week at the time of their injury. According to statute, workers are to receive no more than 2/3 of their average weekly wage.

Payments for wage loss benefits are typically disbursed on a bi-weekly basis.

Besides weekly wage loss payments, maximum amounts are also adjusted for a host of other benefits tied to the state’s average weekly wage. Below are some of these benefit caps for 2013-2014.

  • Scheduled Impairment Rate - $275.10 per week
  • Maximum Limit for Disfigurement - $4640.90
  • Maximum Limit for Extensive Scars or Loss of Limb - $9280.84

In addition to these caps, the Colorado Division of Workers’ Compensation also adjusted total caps for wage loss benefits for injuries occurring on or after January 1, 2014. These limits include:

  • Impairment Rating of 25% or less - $80,868.10
  • Impairment Rating of over 25% - $161,734.15

For medical benefits related to your injury, there are no caps. Employers and insurers are required to pay all related expenses to treating and helping you recover from your work injury.
To learn more about other limits to workers’ comp benefits (…excluding rates we discuss here), check out our page on benefit limitations or download our comprehensive (PDF) Colorado Workers’ Compensation Guide for complete information on benefits, claims, etc. today.

Related Articles From our blog
Steps in a Workers’ Compensation Case

If you’ve been injured at work, you can file a […]

The State of Workers’ Compensation Insurance in Colorado

Colorado employers may be happy to hear that the cost […]

Worker Injured in Rescue Attempt Battling for Workers’ Comp Benefits

Franklin Pound—an employee of Pipeline Systems, Inc.—was busy working on […]


Schedule your free case evaluation now. No cost - no commitment.