Free Case Review    SUBMIT YOUR CASE NOW

"What if I'm in a Car Accident with an Uninsured Motorist in Colorado?"

Find out what you should do if you're in an auto accident with an uninsured motorist in Denver or Colorado from experienced car accident attorney Mack Babcock

Colorado car accident with uninsured driver

According to the Insurance Information Institute, 12.6 percent of motorists (or about one in eight drivers) were uninsured in 2012. Colorado, ranked 9th in the country among states with the highest number of uninsured drivers, was higher than the national average with an estimated 16.2 percent of uninsured motorists.

As with every other state, Colorado laws require that any owner of a car, truck, motorcycle or any other motor vehicle have a minimum amount of insurance in the event of an auto accident. Many drivers, however, are either uninsured or underinsured - they may have either let their policy lapse because they were not able to pay, or the policy they have simply isn't enough to compensate you for injuries and damages.

So when someone gets into a car accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver in Colorado, they will likely have many questions on their mind, such as:

  • What happens if the other driver has no insurance?
  • Who will pay for my injuries and/or damages?
  • What is uninsured motorist (UM) or underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage?
  • What if my insurance company refuses to pay for the other driver's negligence?
  • When can I file a personal injury lawsuit against an uninsured/underinsured driver?
  • What should I do next?

As a Colorado car accident attorney, I want you to know your rights in the event you're involved in a car accident in Colorado where an uninsured motorist is at fault. Get your questions answered.


CONTACT ATTORNEY MACK BABCOCK


First, though, you should understand how insurance normally protects you against these situations.

What are Colorado Uninsured Motorist Laws & Insurance Requirements?

All car insurance carriers in Colorado are required to offer uninsured/underinsured motorists coverage to you when you purchase a policy. It covers you and your passengers if you get in a car accident with an uninsured motorist. You're not required to purchase it (provided you submit a written statement to your insurance company turning it down).

Insurance coverage for Colorado motorists is broken into two parts: bodily injury coverage (injuries) and property damage coverage (damage to your vehicle). Colorado requires every owner of a passenger vehicle (car or truck) be insured for at least $25,000 per person ($50,000 per accident) in bodily injury liability and $15,000 in property damage per accident.

As of January 1, 2008, (PDF) Colorado Revised Statute 10-4-609 effectively closed loopholes previously used by insurers to prevent "offsetting" and using "anti-stacking" language.

The law is intended to help ensure Coloradans obtain the full scope of benefits they thought they were receiving when buying UM/UIM coverage in Colorado.

Colorado was a "no-fault" state until 2003, but the law has since been changed. The state now operates under a tort system, meaning fault for the accident must be established before an insurance company is forced to pay a claim.


What Should I Do If an Uninsured Driver Runs Into Me in Colorado?

Car accidents are difficult enough if everything works like it should. If the other driver is at fault, their insurance should pay to make you "whole" again - meaning you should be compensated for damages to your vehicle, any medical expenses and lost wages for any time you were out of work.

Colliding with an uninsured or underinsured motorist adds a whole new dimension to the situation. If this happens, do the following:

  • Obtain contact information from the other driver, including any insurance information they have, and give it to your insurance company.

  • Some insurance companies require you to obtain a signed statement from an uninsured driver stating they have no insurance. If yours does, get the signed statement from the other driver.

  • Submit a claim after obtaining the above information and statement to your own car insurance provider. If the other driver was underinsured, their carrier will compensate up to his/her policy limits where you can then make a claim to your insurance company for the balance.

IMPORTANT NOTE:

Before accepting any settlement from an at-fault driver's insurance carrier, check with your own insurance company first. Most Colorado car accident insurance policies stipulate that you must obtain permission before accepting any settlements. If you accept any settlements without checking with them first and your policy contains this contract provision, you may not be able to submit an underinsured claim to your own insurance company.

What If My Insurance Company Doesn't Want to Pay for An Uninsured Car Accident?

Dealing with a car accident where the other driver is at fault and uninsured may end up pitting you against your own insurance company. They may argue that you were partially at fault for the accident or debate the extent of your injuries they are responsible for compensating you for. Even if you were slightly at fault, they may reduce your compensation.

Read 3 Ways you can Prove Fault in a Car Accident for more information on proving fault in a car accident in Colorado. Be sure you document everything – obtain police reports and keep meticulous records of your expenses, including medical.

If your insurance carrier is giving you a difficult time, Colorado car accident attorneys at the Babcock Law Firm can assist you in obtaining the compensation you need to make you "whole" again.



Schedule Your Free, No-Risk Consultation Today with an Experienced Colorado Uninsured Car Accident Attorney

Discuss the details of your claim with a Colorado auto accident attorney at The Babcock Law Firm today. No matter where you are in the state of Colorado, if your case falls within our practice area and we feel our representation can benefit you, one of our skilled attorneys will conduct an in-depth consultation at no charge.

We are here to help you secure the best possible outcome. Contact us today and learn more about how representation works.
Related Articles From our blog
avoiding common car accident case mistakes
3 Mistakes That Can Seriously Wreck Your Car Accident Lawsuit

Any mistake, even a small one, made during a car […]

What to Do After a Bicycle Hit-and-Run Accident

Bicycle accidents have become all too common. According to the […]

Keeping Your Child Safe on the Road

Being a busy parent is hard and often means that […]


Disclaimer: While the Babcock Law Firm tirelessly works to obtain successful outcomes for its clients, prior positive outcomes are no guarantee of future success. Indicating prior positive results is in no way intended to guarantee future results.

Schedule your free case evaluation now. No cost - no commitment.